Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Staubitz Archives
Founded in 1930 as the Historical Society of Carthage College, the Staubitz Archives exists to document the life of Carthage College. For over eight decades, we have collected, preserved, and provided access to records and artifacts representing the rich history of Carthage College, the publications of staff and faculty, and the activities of the Carthage community. Our collections include administrative records, college publications, photographs, audio/visual media, and materials related to student organizations and academic pursuits.
Browse the Carthage College Digital Collections
- Catalog of Archival Collections: The archives’ catalog is where users can search the archives’ paper and digital collections.
- Institutional Repository: The archives utilizes DSpace to house a collection of campus research and scholarship, such as theses, syllabi, and textbooks.
- Yearbooks: Carthage College yearbooks are available in a digital, searchable format from 1911-2009. After navigating to the link above, click the “Access the Carthage Yearbook Archives” button. You may enter search terms in the search box, or browse all the yearbooks by clicking on the “Issue List” button.
- Carthaginian: The Carthage Office of Marketing and Communications houses copies of recent Carthaginian magazines on issuu. Please contact the Staubitz Archives for access to Carthaginians that aren't available digitally.
- Carthage College on YouTube
- Carthage Athletics on YouTube
- Carthage College on flickr: Photos of events at Carthage College.
Questions? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Archives & Reading Room Hours
Reading Room Hours
The Archives Reading Room is open for study whenever the library is open.
Hedberg Library Hours
Staubitz Archives Hours
Access to the physical archival content at Carthage is by appointment only. Please email email@example.com to inquire about setting up a time to visit.
For More Information
Staubitz Archvies Homepage
Histories of Carthage
A collection of books have been written on the history of Carthage and its predecessor institutions.
The Miracle of Carthage by
Call Number: LD 801 C302 L4 1975
Publication Date: 1975
Author was President of Carthage and responsible for moving the campus from Carthage, IL to Kenosha, WI in 1964.
Illinois State University by
Call Number: Archives/Special Collections
Publication Date: 1938
A Dream Kept Alive: Carthage College, 1847-2022 by
Call Number: Archives/Special Collections
Publication Date: 2022
Reserve a Librarian!
Click on the link above to make an appointment with a Carthage Librarian.
Visit the Archives
The Staubitz Archives collections include administrative records, college publications, photographs, audio/visual media, and materials related to student organizations and academic pursuits. Select collections, such as our yearbooks, are accessible in digital form online.
Racine and Kenosha Archives
- Staubitz Archives
Staubitz Archives contains the records of Carthage College. It's a great place to start, especially for campus research.
- University of Wisconsin - Parkside
Located just up the road from Carthage, Parkside has a large number of items from Kenosha and Racine. They are also a regional repository for the Wisconsin Historical Society.
- Kenosha Civil War Museum
The Kenosha Civil War Museum has a number of collections related to the Civil War in Illinois, Iowa, Indiana, Michigan, Wisconsin and Minnesota.
- Racine Heritage Museum
Collections related to Racine and Racine County.
Collections in Chicago, Beloit, and Milwaukee areas.
- Japanese American Service Committee Legacy Center
The Japanese American Service Committee Legacy Center seeks to preserve the history of the Japanese American community in Chicago and make the information available to local, national, and international researchers.
Chicago Public Library
- University of Wisconsin Milwaukee Archives
The Archives Department has the two-fold mission of documenting the history of UWM and providing access to primary sources, largely from the metropolitan Milwaukee area, that have long-term research and instructional value for UWM academic programs.
- University of Chicago Special Collections Resource Center
The Special Collections Research Center is home to the University of Chicago Library's rare books, archives, and manuscript collections.
- Marquette University
The mission of the Department of Special Collections and University Archives is to collect, arrange, describe, preserve, and service records of enduring historical value for research, instructional, and administrative use.
- Milwaukee Public Library Archives
Contains the city archives for Milwaukee as well as a number of notable collections about life in Milwaukee.
- Beloit College Archives
Beloit College Archives contains the records of Beloit College, Beloit, and the Civil War in Wisconsin.
Illinois Carthage-Related Resources
Academic Search Complete
Indexes and abstracts over 18,000 journals in science and technology, psychology, religion and philosophy, etc. Over 4,800 journals are peer-reviewed and full text.
Includes more than 14,000 titles, with over 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Contains the full text of The New York Times from 1985 to the present. View Tutorial:
Search for a journal title
Search Journal Titles
Full Text Finder
Full Text Finder is not an article database, it is a portal to journal availability within the library database and serials collections.