Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
World War I: Primary Sources
The following lists of resources are modified from The Bowling Green State University Libraries: https://libguides.bgsu.edu/HistoryInternet and https://libguides.bgsu.edu/internetprimaryUS.
World War I: Primary Sources
- 100 Jahre Erster Weltkrieg
- 1914-1918: The Great War and the Shaping of the 20th Century (PBS)
- Act of Remembrance First World War Publicity Posters at the Nova Scotia Archives
- Albert Huet's WWI Documents (French Army)
- American Leaders Speak: Recordings From World War I
- American war posters from the First World War, circa 1914-circa 1919
- Andre Jeunet Collection: A French Soldier in World War I (photos)
- Arkansas and the Great War
- Billy Hughes at War (Australia)
- British First World War Recruiting Posters
- British war posters from the First World War, circa 1914-1918
- California University of Pennsylvania WWI Collection: Letters from a Western Pennsylvania soldier
- Camp Dix News 1917: Newspaper from Fort Dix
- Camp Sevier
- Canada and the First World War
- Christmas Truce (Topics in Chronicling America)
- Dear Homefolks (Letters from Australian soldiers): Letters from Australian soldiers in WWI
- Delbert Claire Brandt Collection (letters of a soldier)
- DeWitt County World War I Collection
- Doughboy Center: The Story of the American Expeditionary Forces
- Europeana 1914-1918
- Experiencing War: World War I: The Great War
- Female Spies in World War I (Chronicling America)
- First World War (British National Archives)
- FirstWorldWar.com
- French World War I Posters
- From Columbia to the Rhine: Being a Brief History of the Fourth Engineers
- German World War I Photographic Postcards
- Great War Archive
- Guide to World War I Materials (Library of Congress)
- Hatchet: Published on the High Seas 1918-1919: A newspaper published on the USS George Washington while sailing to Europe.
- Hermann Moyse, Sr. World War I Collection
- Histoire et Memoires des Deux Guerres Mondiales
- Imperial War Museums: First World War
- Interactive WWI Timeline
- Irvin Chamberlin Henry World War I Collection
- Joseph M. Bruccoli Great War Collection
- Lafayette Escadrille: American Aviators in World War I (Topics in Chronicling America)
- Lawrence D. Yeomans Papers, 1895-1946 (bulk 1917-1919)
- Letters Home: Correspondence from the First World War (Nova Scotia)
- Memoire des Hommes: Premiere Guerre Mondiale
- Music of the First World War
- Naval-History.net
- Newspaper Pictorials: World War I Rotogravures, 1914-1919
- OAMC World War I Veterans: Surveys of WWI veterans - includes photos, news clippings, etc.
- Operation War Diary (British National Archives)
- Our Military Heritage: World War I
- Over There: Missouri and the Great War
- Photographs from the World War I Memoir of Margaret Hall (Red Cross volunteer)
- Photographs of World War I Battlefields, Captured German Installations, and Allied Installations
- Polar Bear Expedition's Digital Collection
- Ruhleben: A Picture of a World War I Internment Camp
- S.A.T.C.: Student Army Training Corps J.M.U. During the First World War
- Sinking of the Lusitania (Topics in Chronicling America)
- Soldiers of the Great War - Ohio Section Only
- Stars and Stripes: The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I 1918-1919
- Tanks in World War I (Topics in Chronicling America)
- Treaty of Versailles (Topics in Chronicling America)
- Trench and Camp Newspaper - Camp Upton 1917-1919: The Camp Upton (Long Island, NY) version of a newspaper published for soldiers by the National War Work Council of the YMCA
- Trenches on the Web: Posters from the Great War
- University Goes to War: World War I Women
- War Diaries of the First World War (Canadian)
- War Poster Collection (University of Washington)
- Witness to War Dec 1919-Aug 1922: Ireland at War
- Women, War, and the Home Front
- World War History: Newspaper Clippings 1914 to 1926: Daily records and comments as appeared in American and international newspapers
- World War I & World War II Propaganda Posters (Brandeis University)
- World War I -- Documents (Illinois Digital Archives)
- World War I British Press Photograph Collection
- World War I Centennial: Commemorating the Great War
- World War I Collection (Arkansas State Archives)
- World War I Collection (North Carolina Digital Collections)
- World War I Declarations (Topics in Chronicling America)
- World War I Diaries and Letters (University of Iowa)
- World War I Document Archive
- World War I Glass Plate Stereographs, 1914-1929
- World War I History Commission Questionnaires Database (Virginia): Searchable database of questionnaires filled out by WWI veterans.
- World War I in Pictures: An Overview of Prints & Photographs Division Collections (Library of Congress)
- World War I Internment Camps (Australia)
- World War I Maps (North Carolina Digital Collections)
- World War I Photograph Albums and Postcards (New York Public Library)
- World War I Postcards from the Bowman Gray Collection
- World War I Posters (Ball State University)
- World War I Posters (Library of Congress)
- World War I Scrapbook of German Soldiers July 1915-May 1919
- World War One (BBC)
- World War One (British Library)
- World War Poster Collection (University of North Texas)
- WWI & WWII Posters (University of British Columbia)
- WWI Detainees in Hot Springs, NC
- WWI Pamphlets 1913-1920
