Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. 19th Century
The following lists of resources are modified from The Bowling Green State University Libraries: https://libguides.bgsu.edu/HistoryInternet and https://libguides.bgsu.edu/internetprimaryUS.
U.S. 19th Century: Primary Sources
- 19th and 20th Century Labor Prints
- 19th Century American Literary, Historical, and Cultural Studies
- 19th Century Schoolbooks
- 1896: The Presidential Campaign Cartoons & Commentary
- 1898 Wilmington Race Riot Commission
- Adams Family Resources
- Adoption History Project
- African-American Experience in Ohio 1850-1920
- African American Odyssey
- African American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the Daniel A. P. Murray Collection, 1818-1907
- African American Photographs Assembled for the 1900 Paris Exposition
- African Americans and the End of Slavery in Massachusetts
- Alaska, Western Canada and United States Collection (photographs)
- Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women's Education
- Alcohol, Temperance and Prohibition
- Alexander Graham Bell Family Papers at the Library of Congress, 1862-1939
- Alexis de Tocqueville
- America's Public Bible: Biblical Quotations in U.S. Newspapers
- America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915
- America in Caricature: 1765-1865
- American Almanacs
- American Indian and Alaskan Native Documents in the Congressional Serial Set: 1817-1899
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest
- American Journeys: Eyewitness accounts of Early American exploration and settlement
- American Notes: Travels in America, 1750-1920
- American Rhetoric
- American Star 1847-1848
- American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920
- America Votes: Presidential Campaign Memorabilia
- Amistad Trials 1839-1840
- Anarchism Pamphlets in the Labadie Collection
- Andrew Johnson Impeachment Trial (1868)
- Anne Sullivan Macy: Miracle Worker
- Anti-Saloon League, 1893-1933
- Anti-Slavery (Boston Public Library)
- Anti-Slavery Manuscripts (Boston Public Library)
- Antislavery Pamphlet Collection, 1725-1911
- Archival Research Catalog (National Archives)
- Archive of Early American Images
- Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
- Ballot for the Ladies: Washington Women's Struggle for the Vote, 1850-1910
- Basque Resources (University of Nevada, Reno)
- Beauty, Virtue and Vice: Images of Women in Nineteenth Century American Prints
- Becker Collection: Drawings of the American Civil War Era
- Beecher Stowe Family Papers (Radcliffe Institute)
- Before and After the Fire: Chicago in the 1860s, the 1870s, and the 1880s
- Before and After the Great Earthquake and Fire: Early Films of San Francisco: 1897-1916
- Benjamin and Caroline Harrison Materials
- Beverly (Mass.) Poorhouse Records
- Biddle Edition Archives of the Lewis and Clark Journals
- Big Business: Food Production, Processing & Distribution in the North, 1850-1900
- Big Streets in a Little City - Downtown Street Scenes in Kiel (Wisconson), 1860-1980
- Black Abolitionist Archive
- Black Hawk War (Northern Illinois University)
- Black Hawk War (Wisconsin Historical Society)
- Blackwell Family Papers (Radcliffe Institute)
- Black Women's Suffrage
- Bonds Conway Papers 1763-1907
- Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project 1936-1938
- Boston (Mass.) Overseers of the Poor Indentures, 1734-1805
- Boston Abolitionists, 1831-1865
- Boston (Mass.) Overseers of the Poor Indentures, 1734-1805
- Boston Public Library Anti-Slavery Collection (Internet Archive)
- Brady-Handy Collection (photos, 1850s-early 1900s)
- Broadsides and Ephemera (Florida Memory)
- Broadside Verses Collection [Enoch Pratt Free Library]
- Brown University Steering Committee on Slavery & Justice
- Buckaroos in Paradise: Ranching Culture in Northern Nevada, 1945-1982
- Burr Conspiracy Trial (1807)
- Cabell Family Papers (Virginia)
- California's Untold Stories: Gold Rush!
- California As I Saw It' First-Person Narratives of California's Early Years, 1849-1900
- California Gold Rush
- Cantonment Burgwin Postings
- Capital and the Bay: Narratives of Washington and the Chesapeake Bay Region, ca. 1600-1925
- Carlisle Indian School (photos)
- Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center
- Catt Collection Suffrage Photographs
- Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1875
- Charles F. Heartman Manuscripts of Slavery Collection
- Charles Guiteau (Garfield Assassination) Trial (1881-82)
- Charleston Slave Passes
- Charlotte Perkins Gilman Digital Collection (Radcliffe)
- Children in Progressive Era America
- Children in Urban America (1850-2000)
- Chinese American Experience 1857-1892
- Chinese in California 1850-1925
- Chinese Railroad Workers in North America Project
- Chronicle of the China Trade: The Records of Augustine Heard & Co., 1840-1877
- Chronological Lists of Presidents, First Ladies, and Vice Presidents of the United States (photos)
- Church in the Southern Black Community, 1780-1925
- Civil Unrest in Camilla, Georgia, 1868: Reconstruction, Republicanism, and Race
- Civil War in the American South
- Closing of the American Frontier, 1870-1900
- Colored Conventions: Bringing 19th Century African American Organizing to Digital Life
- Community Service Society Photographs
- Confederados Digital Collection
- Confederate Veteran, 1893-1932
- Cornell University Collection of Political Americana
- Creating the United States: Election of 1800
- CSI: Dixie
- Daguerreotypes
- Daguerrotypes at Harvard
- Dakin Fire Insurance Maps (Hawaii 1891-1906)
- Dakota Conflict Trials 1862
- The Daniel Webster Project (Dartmouth)
- Dawn's Early Light: The First 50 Years of American Photography
- Defining Her Life: Advice Books for Women
- Detroit Photographic Company's Views of North America, ca. 1897-1924
- Diaries, Memoirs, Letters and Reports Along the Trails West
- Diaries of John Quincy Adams
- Diary and Letters of Rutherford B. Hayes
- Digital Library on American Slavery
- Digital Schomburg: Images of African Americans from the 19th Century
- DocsTeach: Primary Source Documents
- Documents Relating to Indian Affairs (1801-1932)
- Do History: Martha Ballard's Diary
- Dolley Madison Digital Edition
- Dolley Madison Project
- Dorr Rebellion
- Drawings of the Amistad Prisoners, New Haven, ca. 1839-1840
- English Crime and Execution Broadsides (Harvard Law School Library)
- Earliest Voices: A Gallery from the Vincent Voice Library
- Early Advertising of the West, 1867-1918
- Early California Population Project
- Legislative Petitions Digital Collection
- Earp (OK Corrl)l Trial (1881)
- Elliza Brock's Journal on the Ship Lexington May 21, 1853 - June 25, 1856
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
- Emigrant Diaries and Journals
- Emilie Davis Diaries
- Emma Goldman Papers
- Emma Spaulding Bryant Letters
- Envisaging the West: Thomas Jefferson and the Roots of Louis and Clark
- Eric A. Hegg Photographs (Klondike & Alaska gold rushes, 1897-1901)
- Eugene V. Debs Collection
- Eugene V. Debs Museum
- Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920
- Excerpts from Slave Narratives
- Feeding America: The Historical American Cookbook Project
- Fenian Brotherhood Collection
- Fieldiing Lewis Papers 1783-1900 (plantation owner)
- Finding Precedent: Hayes vs. Tilden: The Electoral College Controversy of 1876-1877
- First-Person Narratives of the American South
- Foreign Relations of the United States (Univ. Wisconsin)
- For Our Mutual Benefit: The Athens Woman's Club and Social Reform, 1890-1920
- Founders Online
- Frederick Douglass Papers
- Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland, and Delaware
- Free at Last? Slavery in Pittsburgh in the 18th and 19th Centuries
- Freedman's Bureau Project
- Freedmen's Bureau Online
- Freedom's Journal 1827-1829
- Freedom Suits Case Files 1814-1860
- Free People of Color in Louisiana: Revealing an Unknown Past
- French Colonial, Spanish Colonial, & 19th century Louisiana Documents (1655-1924)
- Friendly Moralist Society Records, 1841-1856
- From Revolution to Reconstruction and Beyond
- From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909
- From Warrior to Saint: David Pendleton Oakerhater
- Frontier Photographer: Edward S. Curtis
- Geography of Slavery in Virginia
- Georgetown Slavery Archive
- Georgia Legislative Documents, 1755 - present
- Germans from Russia Heritage Collection
- Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World
- Gilded Age Plains City: The Great Sheedy Murder Trial and the Booster Ethos of Lincoln Nebraska
- Gladstone Collection of African American Photographs (primarily Civil War; some as recent as 1945)
- Gloucester County (NJ) Slavery Records
- Gold Rush Era, 1848-1865
- Gold Rush Letters
- Grabill Collection (photos of South Dakota, Wyoming, Native Americans, 1887-1892)
- Grant-Burr Family Papers
- Guide to the Mexican War
- Hal Sayre Papers (Sand Creek Massacre)
- Hannah Arendt Papers at the Library of Congress
- Harriet Jacobs: Selected Writings and Correspondence
- Harriman Alaska Expedition of 1899
- Haymarket Riot Trial (1886) (State of Illinois v. Albert Spies, et al.)
- Helen Keller: Our Champion
- Henry and Elizabeth Baird Collection
- Henry White Family Papers: John Hay-Henry White Correspondence 1897-1905
- Hidden Heritage: The Story of the Reverend James Murphy
- Historic Iowa Children's Diaries (1862-1907)
- History Matters: Many Pasts
- Home Economics Archive
- Homicide in Chicago 1870-1930
- Hunterdon County - Slave Manumissions
- Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement
- Images of the Antislavery Movement in Massachusetts
- Immigrant Servants Database (1607-1820)
- Immigration History Research Center & Archives
- In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
- Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties (Kappler's)
- Indian Land Cessions in the United States, 1784-1894
- Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains Digital Collection
- Invasion of America: How the United States Took Over an Eighth of the World
U.S. 19th Century
- Inventing Entertainment: The Early Motion Pictures and Sound Recordings of the Edison Companies
- Iowa Women's Archives
- Irish Immigrant Letters Home
- James A. Garfield Collection (Hiram College)
- James Buchanan Resource Center
- James Madison Papers (Library of Congress)
- James Madison Papers (New York Public Library)
- Jefferson County's Freedmen's Contracts
- Jefferson Quotes & Family Letters
- John Brown Trial (1859)
- John Bull & Uncle Sam: Four Centuries of British-American Relations
- John Muir Papers
- Journal of the Ship Nauticon Kept by Susan C. Austin Veeder Sept. 13, 1848-March 24, 1853
- Journals, Diaries, Biographies, Autobiographies and Letters of Some Early Mormons and Others Who Knew Joseph Smith, Jr. and/or His Contemporaries
- Kate and Sue McBeth: Missionary Teachers to the Nez Perce
- Keziah Brevard Journal, 1860-1861
- Last Seen: Finding Family After Slavery
- Laura Jernegan, Girl on a Whaleship
- Lee Family Digital Archive
- Letters Received by the (John Wesley) Powell Survey, 1869-1879
- Lewis and Clark: The Journey of the Corps of Discovery
- Liberated Africans
- Life of a City: Early Films of New York, 1898-1906
- Life Photo Archive
- Lizzie Borden Trial (1893)
- Louis Agassiz Fuertes and the Harriman Alaska Expedition
- Lucullus V. McWhorter Collection (1877 Nez Perce War)
- Making of a Homemaker
- Making of America (Cornell University)
- Making of America (University of Michigan)
- Manumissions, Indentures, Bills of Sale
- Manuscript Collections Relating to Slavery (New-York Historical Society)
- Mapping Early American Elections (1787-1825)
- Mapping the Freedmen's Bureau
- Mapping Occupation: Force, Freedom and the Army During Reconstruction
- McKenney and Hall Indian Tribes of North America
- Medicine in the Americas, 1610-1920: A Digital Library
- Miller NAWSA Suffrage Scrapbooks, 1897-1911
- Missing Chapter: Untold Stories of the African American Presence in the Mid-Hudson Valley
- Missouri Mormon War
- Monroe & Florence Work Today
- Monticello Plantation Database
- Mormon Missionary Diaries
- Mountain Meadows Massacre Trials (1875-1876) (John D. Lee Trials)
- Museum of Jewish Heritage
- Mystic Seaport Museum: Digital Items
- N.A. Chandler Gold Rush Era Letters
- National Conference on Social Welfare Proceedings (1874-1982)
- National Tribune, 1877-1917
- New Harmony Manuscripts, 1812-1871
- New Nation Votes: American Election Returns 1787-1825
- New York Slavery Record Index
- Nineteenth-Century American Children and What They Read
- Nineteenth-Century Periodicals
- North American Slave Narratives
- Norton Strange Townshend
- Not For Ourselves Alone: The Story of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony
- Oberlin and the Struggle for Black Freedom
- Old NYC
- Oliver Wendell Homes Jr. Digital Suite
- Oneida Community Collection
- On the Water (Smithsonian)
- Orphan Trains of Kansas
- Overland Trails 1840-1860
- Pageant of America Collection (Photographs)
- Panoramic Photographs
- Papers of Jefferson Davis
- Papers of John Jay
- Parallel Histories: Spain, the United States, and the American Frontier
- Patients' Voices in Early 19th Century Virginia: Letters to Doct. James Carmichael and Son
- Pennsylvania Colonization Society: Constitution & Minutes 1838-1849, 1856-1913
- Perry in Japan: A Visual History
- Perseus Collection: 19th Century American
- Philadelphia Riots (1844)
- Photographing the American Indian: Portraits of Native Americans, 1860-1913
- Pioneering the Upper Midwest: Books from Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin, ca. 1820-1910
- Pioneer Lives (Iowa Digital Library)
- Playing House: Homemaking for Children
- Probing the Past: Virginia and Maryland Probate Inventories, 1740-1810
- Portland's Anti-Slavery Society
- Prairie Settlement: Nebraska Photographs and Family Letters, 1862-1912
- Presidential Elections, 1789 to 1920: Resource Guides
- Printed Ephemera: Three Centuries of Broadsides and Other Printed Ephemera
- Promise of America: Norwegian Emigration to America and Norwegian American History 1825-2000
- Puerto Rican Slave Documents
- Quack Doctor: Historical Remedies for All Your Ills
- Quaker Broadsides and Pamphlets Collection
- Quakers and Slavery
- Race & Place: An African-American Community in the Jim Crow South: Charlottesville, VA
- Railroads in the Midwest: Early Documents and Images
- Randolph Linsly Simpson African American Collection
- Records of Slave Ship Movement Between Africa and the Americas: 1817-1843
- Reframing the Color Line: Race and the Visual Culture of the Atlantic World
- Revised Dred Scott Case Collection
- Rhone Family of Fayette, Texas
- Robert E. Lee Papers
- Runaway Slave Ads Baltimore, Maryland 1842-1863
- Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center Digital Collections
- Samuel F. B. Morse Papers at the Library of Congress, 1793-1919
- Samuel J. Tilden Papers
- Sand Creek Massacre Bibliography - Government Records and Articles
- Schwimmer-Lloyd Collection
- Secession Era Editorials Project
- Select Freedmen's Bureau Records (National Archives)
- Seven Settlement Houses - Database of Photographs (Settlement houses in Chicago, IL)
- Shadows at Dawn (Camp Grant Massacre of 1871)
- Shaping the Values of Youth: Sunday School Books in 19th Century America
- Skinner Family Papers: Sample Letters
- Slave Documents Collection (Enoch Pratt Free Library)
- Slave Movement During the 18th and 19th Centuries
- Slavery, Abolition, Emancipation, and Freedom: Primary Sources from Houghton Library
- Slavery and Abolition in the U.S.: Select Publications of the 1800s
- Slavery and Indentured Servitude Collection 1752-1864
- Slavery and the Law
- Slavery and the U.S. Supreme Court: The Amistad Case
- Slavery Commission [Maryland]
- Slavery Images
- SlaveryStories.org
- Slaves and Free African Americans, Reports and opinions from the newspapers of Hagerstown, Washington County, and Cumberland, Allegany County, Maryland, 1790 to 1864
- Slaves and the Courts: 1740 to 1860
- Song of the Vine: A History of Wine
- South Carolina Estate Inventories and Bills of Sale1732-1872
- Southeastern Native American Documents 1730-1842
- Southern Historical Collection
- Southern Labor Archives
- Spirit of the Southern Frontier: An Archive of Antebellum Humor, Journalism, and Folkways
- St. Louis Circuit Court Historical Records Project
- Studies in Scarlet: Marriage & Sexuality in the U.S. and U.K., 1815-1914
- Susan Anthony Trial (1873)
- Susan B. Anthony Digital Collection (Radcliffe)
- Sydney Howard Gay's "Record of Fugitives"
- Temperance and Prohibition
- Temperance Reform in the Early 19th Century
- Temple of Liberty: Building the Capitol for a New Nation
- Tennessee Documentary History 1796-1850
- Territorial Kansas Online, 1854-1861
- Testimony taken by the Joint Select Committee to Inquire into the Condition of Affairs in the Late Insurrectionary States
- Tewksbury [Mass.] Almshouse Intake Records (1854-1884) (U. Mass. Lowell)
- Texas Runaway Slave Project
- Texas Slavery Project
- Theodore Roosevelt: His Life and Times on Film
- Theodore Roosevelt Center
- Theodore Roosevelt Papers
- Thomas A. Edison Papers
- Thomas Jefferson Online Collection (University of Virginia)
- Thomas Jefferson Papers
- Thomas Johnson Letters (1764-1834; 1st elected governor of Maryland)
- Thomas Nast Collection
- Thomas Sidney Jesup Diary (2d Seminole War, 1835-1842)
- Through the Lens of Time: Images of African Americans from the Cook Collection
- Trail of Tears through Arkansas
- Trails of Hope: Overland Diaries and Letters 1846-1869
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database (Voyages)
- Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo
- Trial of John R. Buzzell
- Trial Pamphlets Collection
- U.S.- Dakota War of 1862
- UCSB Cylinder Audio Archive
- Ulysses S. Grant Home Page
- Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library Digital Collection
- United States Sanitary Commission Records (Images)
- Unknown No Longer: A Database of Virginia Slave Names
- Urban Experience in Chicago: Hull-House and Its Neighborhoods, 1889-1963
- Vintage Ad Browser
- Virginia Emigrants to Liberia
- Virginia Untold: The African American Narrative
- Visualizing 19th Century New York
- Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories
- Votes for Women: Selections from the National Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921
- Votes for Women: The Struggle for Women's Suffrage
- Voyage of the Echo: The Trials of an Illegal Trans-Atlantic Slave Ship
- Walter McClintock Glass Lantern Slides (Blackfoot Tribe)
- Western Americana Collection
- Whaling Ship Logs 1791-1858
- Whitney Plantation
- William F. Cody
- William F. Cody Archive: Documenting the Life and Times of Buffalo Bill
- William Hayes Papers
- William Henry Harrison Papers and Documents, 1794-1864
- William Steinway Diary, 1861-1896
- Woman's Christian Temperance Union
- Woman's Christian Temperance Union in Iowa
- Woman's Work Is Never Done
- Woman Suffrage in Maryland Collection (1884-1920)
- Women's Education Evolves 1790-1890
- Women's Liberation Movement Print Culture
- Women's Suffrage in Iowa
- Women, Marriage and the Law (1815-1914)
- Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party
- Women Physicians, 1850s-1970s
- Women Working 1800-1930
- Words and Deeds in American History
- Ziba B. Oakes Papers 1852-1857
