LibGuides: Psychological Science Research Guide: Personality

Keywords and Search Terms

The following are possible keywords and topics to aid in searching for psychology of personality-related topics. Remember to use the keywords, abstract, and bibliographies fo found resources for further searching ideas. Also, think of synonyms for your main keywords and try combining keywords in different ways.

Social networking sites (SNS)
Social media
Facebook
Self-efficacy
Motivation
Social capital
Perception
Personality traits
Narcissism
Body image
Self-perception
Self-consciousness
Self-esteem
Extraversion
Five-Factor Model of personality

Other Subject Guides

Neuroscience Research Guide
by Carol Sabbar Last Updated Apr 16, 2024 2 views this year
Nursing
by Carol Sabbar Last Updated Apr 16, 2024 315 views this year
Social Work Research Guide
by Kathy Myers Last Updated Dec 20, 2023 0 views this year

Online Resources

American Counseling Association (ACA): An association for counseling professionals.

American Psychological Association (APA): Leading scientific and professional organization for the field of psychology.

ClinicalTrials.gov: A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

National Institute of Health (NIH): The United States' national medical research agency.

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH): The United States federal agency for research on mental disorders.

Social Psychology Network: One of the largest Internet sites devoted to psychological research and teaching. Includes more than 20,000 links related to psychology including professional profiles, professional journals, graduate school information and more.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA): A public agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services created to make substance use and mental disorder information, services, and research more accessible.

Psychology Databases

AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists this database provides drug information written in a language for consumers.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides access to over 5100 titles with full text for more than 2,200 journals back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive coverage of over 630 international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines, with coverage from 1968 to present.
Criminal Justice Collection
The Criminal Justice Collection informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more. Gathers information from over 250 journals.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts over 1.4 million records, links to over 337,000 full-text documents of educational literature and resources.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
Downloadable public-use data sets from the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research that can be used with SPSS or Excel for statistical analysis. You can create an account from on-campus using your carthage.edu e-mail as the contact info.
Ingentaconnect This link opens in a new window
Indexes 4.5 million articles from 13,500 periodicals in the physical and applied sciences, humanities, and social sciences. There is no full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library providing access to books, primary sources, and archival and current issues of over 2,000 scholarly journals across from over 50 academic disciplines. View this tutorial:
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
World's largest biomedical database containing over 19 million references to journal articles in all areas of medicine and related disciplines from 1946 to present.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text database containing more than 178,000 peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from over 100 journals covering psychology-related subjects.
Psychology Collection
Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstracting database of over 3.5 million citations in the behavioral science and mental health fields from the 1800s to the present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
An integrated, text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) for the major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
Science in Context
Science In Context is an engaging online resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Drawing students in with captivating subject matter, Science In Context showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather. The collection includes millions of full-text articles that includes national and global publications as well as 200+ experiments, projects, and top reference content.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.

Social Psychology Network
One of the largest Internet sites devoted to psychological research and teaching. Includes more than 20,000 links related to psychology including professional profiles, professional journals, graduate school information and more.

eBooks at Hedberg Library

The Hedberg Library at Carthage College has an extensive ebook collection on the topic of psychology of personality. Please take a look at this list of search results below.

Psychology of Personality eBooks

* Keep in mind that ebooks are not available to request via Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan

If you find a book or journal article that Carthage does not own, you may request that item through Hedberg Library's Interlibrary Loan service. See the link above for more information, or ask a Hedberg Librarian.

Search for a journal title

Search Journal Titles

Full Text Finder

Full Text Finder is not an article database, it is a portal to journal availability within the library database and serials collections.

Psychology Journals

Journals

Full-text, peer-reviewed titles. List is nowhere close to exhaustive! Find other journals using the Full Text Finder resource on this page.

Psychological Science Research Guide: Personality

Psychology of Personality Resources at Hedberg Library

Keywords and Search Terms

Other Subject Guides

Online Resources

Psychology Databases

Psychology Databases

eBooks at Hedberg Library

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan

Search for a journal title

Search Journal Titles

Psychology Journals

Journals