Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reserve a Librarian!
Click on the link above to make an appointment with a Carthage Librarian.
Hedberg Library Hours
Summer Hours (begins Mon. May 23)
Monday: 7:30 am-10:00 pm
Tuesday: 7:30 am-10:00 pm
Wednesday: 7:30 am-10:00 pm
Thursday: 7:30 am-10:00 pm
Friday: 7:30 am-5:00 pm
Saturday: 9:00 am-5:00 pm
Sunday: 1:00 pm-10:00 pm
Special Summer Hours
Mon., May 31: CLOSED
Mon., July 4: CLOSED
Sat., August 27: CLOSED
Sun., August 28: CLOSED
Mon., August 29-Fri., September 2: 8:00 am-5:00 pm
firstname.lastname@example.org for questions or concerns.
Complete Library Hours
Academic Search Complete
Indexes and abstracts over 18,000 journals in science and technology, psychology, religion and philosophy, etc. Over 4,800 journals are peer-reviewed and full text.
Includes more than 14,000 titles, with over 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Contains the full text of The New York Times from 1985 to the present. View Tutorial:
Library Catalog - Find books, journal articles, videos, and more
Find books, journal articles, videos, and more.
AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists this database provides drug information written in a language for consumers.
Ingentaconnect This link opens in a new window
Indexes 4.5 million articles from 13,500 periodicals in the physical and applied sciences, humanities, and social sciences. There is no full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library providing access to books, primary sources, and archival and current issues of over 2,000 scholarly journals across from over 50 academic disciplines. View this tutorial:
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
World's largest biomedical database containing over 19 million references to journal articles in all areas of medicine and related disciplines from 1946 to present.
PeerJ This link opens in a new window
PeerJ is an open access publisher of Biology, Medicine, and Computer Science peer reviewed journals.
PLOS is a publisher of a number of peer reviewed, open access journals in the sciences.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text database containing more than 178,000 peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from over 100 journals covering psychology-related subjects.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstracting database of over 3.5 million citations in the behavioral science and mental health fields from the 1800s to the present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
An integrated, text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) for the major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
SciFinder is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
SciFinder (registration page)
To access SciFinder, you must create an account while on campus. Click this link to create your own login. SciFinder will then send you an email with a link which you must click on in order to complete your registration. Once your registration is complete, click on the SciFinder link on our Reference Resource page to access the site.
Data and Tools
A free resource for protocols provided by the Reproducibility Initiative.
HSRIC: Data, Tools and Statistics
A list of various data sites and collection agencies.
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
The home of the U.S. government's open data.
This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
Search for a journal title
Search Journal Titles
Full Text Finder
Full Text Finder is not an article database, it is a portal to journal availability within the library database and serials collections.