Hedberg Library: Home

Contact Us

• Call: 262-551-5950
• Email: help@carthage.edu
• Reserve a Librarian: Make an appointment with a Carthage Librarian.
• Order Library Materials: Don't see what you need? Request an addition to the library collection.
• Frequently Asked Questions
• Report a problem

Library Hours

Complete Library Hours

Winter Break (Dec. 14 - Jan. 7)

• Mon, December 23: 8:00 am-5:00 pm
• Tue, Dec. 24-Wed, Jan. 1: CLOSED
• Thu, Jan. 2- Tue, Jan. 7: 8:00 am-5:00 pm

J-Term 2025 Hours (Begins Wed, Jan. 8)

• Monday: 7:30 am-10:00 pm
• Tuesday: 7:30 am-10:00 pm
• Wednesday: 7:30 am-10:00 pm
• Thursday: 7:30 am-10:00 pm
• Friday: 7:30 am-5:00 pm
• Saturday: 9:00 am-5:00 pm
• Sunday: 12:00 pm-10:00 pm

Library Catalog

Find books, journal articles, videos, and more.

Library Services Availability

If you have questions or concerns, please email help@carthage.edu. LIS staff monitor that system during regular business hours, Monday-Friday, 8:00 am - 4:30 pm.

Library Hours

The library building is open. Hours are subject to change throughout the semester. Please see www.carthage.edu/library for the most up-to-date hours.

Online Resources

Hedberg Library offers many resources for the Carthage Community that are available online at carthage.libguides.com/carthagelibrary.

On the right-hand side of this webpage, there are links to our Subject and Class Guides for each major offered at Carthage, with recommended subject databases. You can also find links to all our Electronic Resources in a listing of all subject databases, ebooks, newspapers, and online videos and movies.

Research Appointments

On the left-hand side of the following webpage (https://carthage.libguides.com/liaisons) is the contact information for our Reference Librarians and how to set up appointments either face-to-face or through Zoom or Google Meet. We can help with getting started on research papers.

Circulation and Library Check-outs

The library is open for you to check out materials. Items are available on a first-come-first-served basis. Please make every attempt to return all the library items you checked out (including computing equipment) by their due dates. If you have questions about your ability to return items please email help@carthage.edu.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan is a service that allows us to borrow items from other libraries. Please see this webpage for more information and to log in to request items.

If you have any questions about library services, please email help@carthage.edu.

Research Assistance and Classroom Instruction

Hedberg Library is staffed by professional librarians available to offer assistance with Carthage students' research.

FOR STUDENTS

• Personalized one-on-one research appointments with subject experts
  • Please email the librarian in your major or schedule an appointment.
• Online research guides
  • Librarians created research guides for each department to assist online research.
  • See Subject and Class Guides via this link or at the right.

FOR FACULTY

• In-class instruction sessions
  • Hedberg Librarians will come to your class to help teach research skills. Pre-recorded videos and attendance in Zoom classes is an option for librarian instruction. Please connect with your library liaison to discuss options (or you may email help@carthage.edu). See the Library Liaison and Classroom Instruction page for more details.

Research Tools

• Subject and Class Guides
• Research Assistance and Classroom Instruction
• Citing Sources
• Copyright
• eBooks
• Grad School Prep & Testing
• Interlibrary Loan
• Evaluating Sources

Electronic Resources

• All Electronic Resources
• Trial Databases
• Best General Databases
• Dictionaries
• Encyclopedias
• Newspapers
• Video and Film

Search Journal Titles

Full Text Finder

Full Text Finder is not an article database, it is a portal to journal availability within the library database and serials collections.