Psychological Science Research Guide: Attachment

Print Books at Hedberg Library

Keywords and Search Terms

Some possible keywords and topics to aid in searching for attachment-related topics are below.

• Human attachment
• Infant attachment
• Adult attachment
• Attachment to pets
  • Companion animals
  • Veterans and animals
• Environmental psychology
• Attachment to place
• Homesickness
• Attachment across the lifespan
• Intergenerational attachment
• Secure vs. insecure attachment
• Impact of separation/divorce on attachment
• Attachment during the preschool years
• Attachment during the elementary years
• Adolescent attachment
• College student attachment
• Attachment to parents
• Attachment to romantic partners
• Separation and individuation
• Violence and attachment
• Anorexia and attachment
• Acting out and attachment among juvenile offenders
• Attachment in sibling relationships
• Attachment in older adults

New Books @ Hedberg

Videos

eBooks at Hedberg Library

The Hedberg Library at Carthage College has an extensive ebook collection on the topic of psychological attachment. Please take a look at this list of search results below.

Attachment eBooks Catalog List

* Keep in mind that ebooks are not available to request via Interlibrary Loan.

Journals and Databases

Journal: Attachment and Human Development

Attachment & Human Development is the leading forum for the presentation of empirical research, reviews and clinical case studies that reflect contemporary advances in attachment theory and research (tandfonline.com). 

Availability: Available through the Hedberg Library subscription. We have full-text access from April 1, 2000 to the present, with an embargo period of 18 months (meaning we don't have full-text access to the most recent 18 months of issues).

Journal: Child & Adolescent Psychology

Availability: Available through the Hedberg Library subscription. We have full-text access from March 1, 1999 to the present, with a 1 year embargo period (meaning we don't have full-text access ot the most recent 12 months of issues).

Journal: Current Directions in Psychological Science

Availability: Available through the Hedberg Library subscription. We have full-text access from February 1, 1991-December 1, 2009, and January 1, 2015 to the present.

Interlibrary Loan

If you find a book or journal article that Carthage does not own, you may request that item through Hedberg Library's Interlibrary Loan service. See the link above for more information, or ask a Hedberg Librarian.

Other Resources

ClinicalTrials.gov

ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

National Institute of Health (NIH)

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP)

OJJDP is a component of the U.S. Justice Department. The National Criminal Justice Reference Service offers justice, victim-related, and drug policy information to support research, policy, and program development.

• Visit the NCJRS Library to find justice, substance abuse, and victim-related information in addition to information related to juvenile justice.
• The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of publications housed in the library collection.
• Use the interactive NCJRS Thesaurus to build a set of relevant terms with which to search the Abstracts Database.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

A public agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services created to make substance use and mental disorder information, services, and research more accessible.