Matthew Bown donated his collection of Soviet Art books to Carthage College to complement the Sam and Berry Shoen Soviet Art Collection. Hedberg Library houses this extensive collection of texts.
One-third of the collection is in English, the remaining two-thirds is in Cyrillic. All the books are cataloged and are available for checkout from the library. You can find titles in the catalog using the search term "Soviet Art Collection." You may further limit your search by using keywords. For example, search for "Soviet Art Collection" AND Gerasimov. This will limit the results to titles within the collection to those by or about Gerasimov.
The books are physically located in a special section in the library. Please ask an employee if you'd like to browse the collection. You may email questions to help@carthage.edu.
This library catalog accesses almost every journal database, as well as helping you bring any book to Carthage free of charge via Interlibrary Loan.
Reserve a Librarian!
Click on the link above to make an appointment with a Carthage Librarian.
Spring 2025 Hours (Begins Wed, Feb. 5)
Easter Break (Apr. 17 - Apr. 21)
Beyond memory : Soviet nonconformist photography and photo-related works of art by 
The commissar vanishes : the falsification of photographs and art in Stalin's Russia by 
Contemporary Painting in Russia by 
Contemporary Ukrainian and Baltic Art by 
A Dictionary of Russian and Soviet Artists, 1420-1970 by 
Glasnost :Soviet non-conformist art from the 1980s by 
The irony tower : Soviet artists in a time of glasnost by 
Komar and Melamid by 
Looking for Lenin by 
Masters of Russian Impressionism by 
The Morozov Collection by 
Nonconformist Art by 
Pavel Tchelitchew by 
Peter Carl Fabergé, goldsmith and jeweller to the Russian Imperial Court: his life and work by 
Raising the Banner by 
The Ransom of Russian Art by 
Russian Art from Neoclassicism to the Avant-Garde, 1800-1917 by 
Russian Jewish Artists in a Century of Change, 1890-1990 by 
Socialist Realisms by 
The Total Art of Stalinism by 
