LibGuides: Criminal Justice Research Guide: Home

Librarian

Contact:

email: kmyers@carthage.edu

Carthage College-Hedberg Library
2001 Alford Park Drive
Kenosha, WI 53140
phone: 262-551-5907

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Education, Psychological Sciences, Social Work, Sociology

Need Help?

Reserve a Librarian!
Click on the link above to make an appointment with a Carthage Librarian.

Call: 262-551-5950
Email: help@carthage.edu
Order Library Materials: Don't see what you need? Request an addition to the library collection.
Search our FAQ's
Report a problem

Citation Syles

MLA: is based on the Modern Language Association’s MLA Manual & Guide to Scholarly Publishing. MLA Style is commonly used in the Arts and Humanities.

APA: is based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association . APA Style is commonly used in the Social and Applied Sciences, Psychology, and Education.

Chicago: is derived from the The Chicago Manual of Style. Chicago Style is commonly used in history, business, and art.

Library Catalog - Find books, journal articles, videos, and more

Library Catalog

Find books, journal articles, videos, and more.

Subject Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, and international affairs. View Tutorial:
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive coverage of over 630 international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines, with coverage from 1968 to present.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts over 1.4 million records, links to over 337,000 full-text documents of educational literature and resources.

LexisNexis Academic
Provides full text coverage of numerous publications in the areas of business, government, law, medicine, and U.S. and international news. Also provides full text coverage of the New York Times from 1980 to present.

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text database containing more than 178,000 peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from over 100 journals covering psychology-related subjects.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstracting database of over 3.5 million citations in the behavioral science and mental health fields from the 1800s to the present.

Statistical Resources

American FactFinder
From the U.S. Census Bureau: population, housing, economic, and geographic data .
Center for Disease Control and Prevention Statistics
Uniform Crime Reporting
Statistics from the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
Downloadable public-use data sets from the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research that can be used with SPSS or Excel for statistical analysis. You can create an account from on-campus using your carthage.edu e-mail as the contact info.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts over 18,000 journals in science and technology, psychology, religion and philosophy, etc. Over 4,800 journals are peer-reviewed and full text.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 14,000 titles, with over 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Contains the full text of The New York Times from 1985 to the present. View Tutorial:

Research Tools

Electronic Resources

Search for a journal title

Search Journal Titles

Full Text Finder

Full Text Finder is not an article database, it is a portal to journal availability within the library database and serials collections.