Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Audio and Film Electronic Resources
Find images, sounds, video and other media.
Alan Lomax Sound Recordings
The Sound Recordings catalog comprises over 17,400 digital audio files, beginning with Lomax’s first recordings in 1946 and tracing his career into the 1990s. From the Association for Cultural Equity.
A digital library of approximately 1.8 million images in the fields of art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. If you want to create an account to save images and access easily from off-campus, you will need to login to Institution - Carthage College. Then, create your account using your Carthage email address.
IMSLP: International Music Scores Library
Attempts to create a virtual library containing all public domain musical scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge.
IPA Source was developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature. What started in 2003 as a support site for students in a university diction class has grown into the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 30,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. View Tutorial:
Metropolitan Opera On Demand
Met Opera on Demand is the online streaming service that allows users to watch and listen to more than 600 Met performances over the internet. This online streaming catalog includes HD videos (from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of worldwide cinema transmissions), classic telecasts (standard-definition videos that were originally broadcast live on television from 1977-2003), and radio broadcast (audio-only) performances dating back to 1935 (from the Met’s long-running series of Saturday matinee radio broadcasts as well as more recent satellite radio broadcasts.) Email email@example.com for the log in information to access Metropolitan Opera on Demand. Password is changed often.
Musical Theater Songs
MusicalTheaterSongs.com’s easy-to-use interface lets you enter up to 20-plus parameters (voice type, character age, range, ease for accompanist, descriptive characteristics, etc.) to generate a list of songs tailored to your needs from an ever-growing database of thousands of titles. MusicalTheaterSongs.com draws from 150 years of musical theater repertoire, ranging from well-known standards to rare finds to help you find the right songs quickly and easily.
Naxos Music Library
This sound library contains over 168,700 CD-length recordings, including classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music, which users can search for by composer, artist, period, year of composition, solo instrument, or genre. View Tutorial:
New Play Exchange
The New Play Exchange®, a National New Play Network project, is the world’s largest digital library of scripts by living writers. The mission of the New Play Exchange® is to provide an open, egalitarian platform on which writers all over the world can share their work and others can discover that work.
Online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. Contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning. America's preeminent public broadcasting producer, WGBH productions have documented our collective cultural heritage in moving images and sound.
, Environmental Science
, Geospatial Science
, Graduate School Tests
, Latin American Studies
, Modern Languages
, Physics and Astronomy