Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chinese News Sources
China Daily News
Online Chinese news website that can be switched to full Chinese or Bilingual format.
China Radio International
News sites of the China Radio International. There are links to their broadcasts attached to news articles. In English but language can be changed.
Chinese newspapers by region
Another list of Chinese newspapers organized by location
Chinese National Radio
News site for the Chinese National Radio. Articles and links to audio stories are completely in Chinese.
Liberty Times (Taiwan)
Taiwanese News Source (in Chinese)
List of Chinese newspapers
An extensive list of newspapers with Chinese news in several languages from onlinenewspapers.com
Shanghai Daily News
A great source for business news in China. Main article are in English, but there are links to articles in Chinese.
Southern China Morning Post
Southern China / Hong Kong news source. Use the Edition drop-down at the upper left to switch from International to Hong Kong.
Xinhua News Agency (EN). Use the Editions drop-down at the upper right to select language.
Information about countries and Cultures
BAIDU - popular Chinese search engine
This Chinese search engine has about 70% of the market share among users in China
The Centre for Digital Africa, Asia and the Middle East
The Centre is in the process of putting their collections of rare manuscripts, books, photographs, audio and film material on-line, to be freely available for everyone.
All items can be used for non-commercial use!
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
The Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy is a unique reference work which makes a broad range of richly varied philosophical, ethical and theological traditions accessible to a wide audience.The Companion is divided into six sections covering the main traditions within Asian thought: Persian; Indian; Buddhist; Chinese; Japanese; and Islamic philosophy.
Government Politics and Law
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. This Government, Politics & Law HeinOnline’s database package includes, among other things, special collections on Criminal Justice, History, Foreign Relations, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law.