Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alphabet and Script Guides
A Guide to Writing Kanji and Kana by
Publication Date: 1990-12-15
Grammar and Writing Guides
Basic Grammar guide
Tae Kim's free online grammar guide for beginners complete with definitions of the words used in example sentences.
Jgram －Japanese Grammar
Site with grammar tutorials.
Grammar points are organized by JLPT level and users submit example sentences with people checking to make use the examples are correct.
English to Japanese dictionary with example sentences
A Japanese dictionary
Denshi Jisho is an easy-to-use and powerful online Japanese dictionary. It lets you find words, kanji and example sentences by searching in many ways.
Provides online dictionaries (JE-EJ, kanji, names, particles, sfx, counters), pages on grammar, dialects, and writing styles, as well as free online university-grade lessons.
An English to Japanese dictionary
Essential Japanese Phrasebook and Dictionary by
Publication Date: 2017-02-14
Annotation Essential Japanese Phrase Book & Dictionary teaches you the practical phrases and expressions needed for common, everyday interactions in Japan in a way that's clear, concise, accessible and enjoyable. Key features of this Japanese phrasebook and dictionary include:* Over 2,000 practical sentences*
Japanese English Bilingual Dictionary by
Call Number: PL676 J365 2011
Publication Date: 2011-05-02
Anki - powerful, intelligent flashcards
Intelligent flash card system that tracks your progress word by word. Cards are rechedualed to later days by difficulty. Harder cards appear sooner than others allowing for constant reinforcement.
Chrome extension that allows looking up words, including Kanji readings and meanings by mousing over them.
Japanese NHK Lessons
NHK airs Japanese lessons for people of various languages on its international shortwave RADIO JAPAN service. On this site, you can listen to those lessons.