Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Information about countries and Cultures
The Centre for Digital Africa, Asia and the Middle East
As a world leader in the study of Africa, Asia and the Middle East, SOAS, University of now make selected collections available for online use. Its digital collections include archives and manuscripts, photographs, maps, books and journals, newspapers, oral histories, films and audio. Nearly all are available freely, twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week, all year round. While some of this content is protected by copyright, all of it can be used with attribution under Creative Commons licence CC BY-NC.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Provides information on Japanese films. JFDB is searchable by title, film cast and staff, film industries and distributors, and maintained by the Japan Foundation and UNIJAPAN. Languages: English and Japanese.
Tokyo city guide with movies, art, clubs, bars, TV, Japanese culture, food, cars, tech, new products and Internet, travel, shopping, style and fashion and community. Plus 1000's of classifieds and personals. Former name was Tokyo Classified.
Recent data and statistics on country development, global poverty, health and education, and other economic and social indicators related to poverty and development. Includes global gender statistics.
Books on Japanese Culture
Japanese Culture by
Call Number: BL 2211 S63 D38 2016
Publication Date: 2016-08-09
Japanese Culture: The Religious and Philosophical Foundations takes readers on a detailed and thoroughly researched journey through Japan's cultural history. This much-anticipated sequel to Roger Davies's best-selling The Japanese Mind provides a comprehensive overview of the religion and philosophy of Japan. This cultural history of Japan explains the diverse cultural traditions that underlie modern Japan and offers readers deep insights into Japanese manners and etiquette. Davies begins with an investigation of the origins of the Japanese, followed by an analysis of the most important approaches used by scholars to describe the essential elements of Japanese culture. From there, each chapter focuses on one of the formative elements: Shintoism, Buddhism, Taoism, Zen, Confucianism, and Western influences in the modern era. Davies concludes each chapter with extensive endnotes along with thought-provoking discussion activities, making this volume ideal for individual readers and for classroom instruction. Anyone interested in pursuing a deeper understanding of this complex and fascinating nation will find Davies's work an invaluable resource
History of Japanese Food by
Publication Date: 2014-06-17
Despite the popularity of Japanese food in the West today, remarkably little is known about its history. This is a detailed study of the food and dietary practices of the Japanese from the Palaeolithic era, before rice was cultivated, through the period when the distinctive Japanese culinary tradition reached its culmination (between 1640 and 1860), and on to the present day. This evolution is traced for typical dishes of all periods, condiments, beverages, ingredients, methods of preparation, etiquette, the aesthetics of presentation, eating implements and cooking utensils in the social, political, and economic contexts of their consumption and use. Topics include the spread of soy sauce, the design of Japanese food, introducing the reader to home cookery and regional schools of cuisine that are virtually unknown outside Japan. It makes a unique contribution to the study of Japanese culture, and of culinary history as a whole.
Japanese Visual Culture by
Publication Date: 2014-12-18
Born of Japan's cultural encounter with Western entertainment media, manga (comic books or graphic novels) and anime (animated films) are two of the most universally recognized forms of contemporary mass culture. Because they tell stories through visual imagery, they vault over language barriers. Well suited to electronic transmission and distributed by Japan's globalized culture industry, they have become a powerful force in both the mediascape and the marketplace. This volume brings together an international group of scholars from many specialties to probe the richness and subtleties of these.
Publication Date: 2015-07-31
Kendo is the first book in English to provide an in-depth historical, cultural, and political account of the Japanese martial art of swordsmanship, from its beginnings in military training and arcane medieval schools to its widespread practice today as a global sport. Alexander Bennett shows how kendo evolved through a recurring process of 'inventing tradition', which served the changing ideologies and needs of Japanese warriors and governments over the course of history. Kendo follows the development of Japanese swordsmanship from the aristocratic pretensions of medieval warriors in the Muromachi period, to the samurai elitism of the Edo regime, and to the patriotism of the Meiji state. Kendo was influenced in the 1930s and 1940s by ultranationalist militarists and ultimately by the postwar government, which sought a gentle form of cultural nationalism to rekindle appreciation of traditional culture among Japan's youth and to garner international prestige as an instrument of 'soft power'. Today kendo is becoming increasingly popular internationally. But even as new organizations and clubs form around the world, the sport remains closely linked to Japan's sense of collective identity
Painting nature for the nation : Taki Katei and the challenges to sinophile culture in Meiji Japan by
Publication Date: 2013
In Painting Nature for the Nation: Taki Katei and the Challenges to Sinophile Culture in Meiji Japan, Rosina Buckland offers an account of the career of the painter Taki Katei (1830¿́¿1901). Drawing on a large body of previously unpublished paintings, collaborative works and book illustrations by this highly successful, yet neglected, figure, Buckland traces how Katei transformed his art and practice based in modes derived from China in order to fulfil the needs of the modern nation-state at large-scale exhibitions and at the imperial court. She provides a rare examination of the vibrant world of Chinese-inspired culture during the 1880s, and the hostility which it faced in the following decade.
Videos on Japanese Culture