Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alphabet and Script Guides
Avashy Hindi Script Tutor
This is a phenomenal website that teaches the Hindi script and pronunciation. The website not only shows students the full Hindi script, but also provides tests for students to cement their knowledge of Hindi.
UK India provides multiples lessons on the Urdu script and its pronunciation.
Grammar and Writing Guides
This site is a great introduction to basic Hindi grammar. The site also has grammar exercises, videos, stories with vocabulary, and information about Hindu festivals.
E-Text for C.M. Naim's Urdu Grammar Book
This e-text is on Columbia University professor Dr. Frances Pritchett's personal website. It covers a portion of C.M. Naim's Introductory Urdu, vol 1.
Braj Bhasha Reader
The Braj Bhasha Reader published by Dr. Rupert Snell of the University of Texas Austin's Hindi- Urdu Flagship. The Braj Basha Reader provides students with a concise introduction to the important Hindi dialect Braj. Dr. Snell breaks down the grammar and provides sample texts about Braj.
BBC Hindi provides up to date news in Hindi about India, Asia, Africa, Australia, The Americas, Europe, technology, and additional information of interest.
BBC Urdu provides up to date news in Urdu about Pakistan, Asia, Africa, Australia, The Americas, Europe, technology, and additional information of interest.
Dawn is a popular Urdu newspaper in Pakistan. The paper covers a variety of domestic and international events, along with entertainment, blogs, and other topics of interest.
Hindi- Urdu Voicemail
Hindi-Urdu Voicemail is a phenomenal listening tool for students of Hindi and Urdu. The site has over 20 recorded voicemails by native speakers of Hindi and Urdu. The voicemails allow for student to practice their listening skills by hearing colloquial Hindi and Urdu.
Digital Dialect is a great website for basic Hindi knowledge. The site teaches students how to count in Hindi. It also teaches colors, animals, Hindi alphabet, and it has vocabulary games.
Casual and fun ways to learn Hindi and Urdu.