It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
Publisher of the most-cited, peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences. Provides access to over 40 peer-reviewed journals. From the ACS Publication page, click on the "ACS Journals" tab. Then click on any of the listed titles to enter that journal's web site.
A digital library of approximately 1.8 million images in the fields of art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. If you want to create an account to save images and access easily from off-campus, you will need to login to Institution - Carthage College. Then, create your account using your Carthage email address.
Business Insights: Global combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides access to over 5,000 journals with full text for over 730 of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database, many of which contain no embargo. Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students consider this database an essential research tool providing full-text coverage dating back to 1937. More than 1,400 journals are indexed. Contains more than 4.8 million records.
The Criminal Justice Collection informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more. Gathers information from over 250 journals.
Coverage ranges from early childhood to higher education, with specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Indexes and abstracts over 3,500 journals, as well as providing full text for numerous journals, books, and conference papers.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 30,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
This sound library contains over 141,800 CD-length recordings, including classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music, which users can search for by composer, artist, period, year of composition, solo instrument, or genre.
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) is a leading provider in business and consumer research. Offering a full-service platform, Reference Solutions helps users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds and locate people. Patrons have access to more than 24 million businesses, 262 million consumers, U.S. new businesses, U.S. new homeowners and movers. Reference Solutions data helps researchers, students, and job-seekers answer a wide variety of questions.
Click the registration link below to create your own account, paid by Carthage, for digital access to The Wall Street Journal. Once you have created an account you may access WSJ by clicking here. Also see the newspaper in print in the library.
Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Broadway On Demand is the premiere streaming platform offering exclusive livestream events, a wide-ranging library of video on demand content, interactive engagements, and educational resources. It is a virtual performing arts complex offering a variety of programming including not only Broadway shows and movie musicals but also, individual artists, concert series, and engaging content from performance venues and theatres around the world. Email firstname.lastname@example.org for log in information.
As critical as regular studio and stage training are, Vocal MasterClassics provides students with instruction from a wide variety of professionals who can provide invaluable perspectives born of their real-world experiences. ***ON CAMPUS ONLY***