Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Gale's 19th Century U.S. Newspapers -- a full-text searchable, facsimile-image database -- provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. The collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Every aspect of society and every region of the nation is found in the archive -- rural and urban, large cities and small towns, coast to coast, etc. Includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests. Also included are illustrated papers that bring the nineteenth century to life through the drawings of many artists.
Trial
ABC-CLIO Solutions databases connect students, scholars, teachers, and librarians with curated collections of primary sources, expert perspectives, and reference material on essential subjects in U.S. history and government, world history, geography, and a range of multicultural and popular culture disciplines. ***ON CAMPUS ONLY***
New
Archives of Sexuality & Gender, the largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research. Rare and unique documentation of LGBTQ history through fully-searchable newsletters, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources.
New
Hundreds of thousands of tax and accounting professionals use Thomson Reuters Checkpoint every day to do their jobs faster, more accurately, and with greater confidence. Checkpoint provides them with fast access to thoroughly integrated and up-to-date research materials, editorial insight, productivity tools, online learning, news updates, and marketing resources. Get trusted answers to your tax and accounting questions, plus guidance and resources to help you make confident decisions quickly — adding more value to your firm or business.
New
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format. It is indispensable for writers, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers. ***Currently, ON CAMPUS ONLY***
Trial
Digital Theatre+ is the world’s leading educational platform for the performing arts. They provide 3 million students in over 1300 schools, colleges and universities across 65 countries with unlimited access to over 900 full-length productions and educational resources. ***ON CAMPUS ONLY***
New
Marquette University's Raynor Library annually publishes Foundations in Wisconsin: A Directory. It is the only directory of its kind
which covers every active grant making foundation in the state of Wisconsin. The foundation profiles include contact information, total assets,
grants paid, and areas of interest. Login: CarthageCollege, Library2018
Trial
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. This Government, Politics & Law HeinOnline’s database package includes, among other things, special collections on Criminal Justice, History, Foreign Relations, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law.
Trial
IPA Source was developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature. What started in 2003 as a support site for students in a university diction class has grown into the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.
New
Over 2,900 open access books from publishers such as University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press in a wide variety of subjects. Provided by JSTOR.
New
Its goal is to collect annually scholarly works relating to every aspect of Greek and Roman civilization (authors and texts ; literature ; linguistics ; political, economic, and social history ; attitudes and daily life ; religion ; cultural and artistic life ; law ; philosophy ; science and technology ; and the history of classical studies). Significant space is accorded to the auxiliary disciplines (archaeology, epigraphy, numismatics, papyrology and paleography). Book notices are followed by a listing of reviews as these are published ; notices of articles include an abstract in English, German, Spanish, French, or Italian.
New
Latin American News Digest strives to provide North Americans and Europeans (and Africans, Asians, and Australians for that matter) with wide spectrum coverage of news and commentary, produced by Latin Americans, for Latin Americans. Latin American News Digest aggregates the news of the Latin American media. ***ON CAMPUS ONLY***
New
Met Opera on Demand is the online streaming service that allows users to watch and listen to more than 600 Met performances over the internet. This online streaming catalog includes HD videos (from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of worldwide cinema transmissions), classic telecasts (standard-definition videos that were originally broadcast live on television from 1977-2003), and radio broadcast (audio-only) performances dating back to 1935 (from the Met’s long-running series of Saturday matinee radio broadcasts as well as more recent satellite radio broadcasts.) Email library@help.carthage.edu for the log in information to access Metropolitan Opera on Demand. Password is changed often.
Trial
MIT CogNet is the essential research tool for scholars in the Brain and Cognitive Sciences. Since its inception in 2000, MIT CogNet has become an essential resource for those interested in cutting-edge primary research across the range of fields that study the nature of the human mind. 2015 marks the launch of a new, enhanced MIT CogNet. Access includes 750 MIT Press books, 12 core reference works, and all 9 MIT Press journals. ***ON CAMPUS ONLY***
New
MusicalTheaterSongs.com’s easy-to-use interface lets you enter up to 20-plus parameters (voice type, character age, range, ease for accompanist, descriptive characteristics, etc.) to generate a list of songs tailored to your needs from an ever-growing database of thousands of titles. MusicalTheaterSongs.com draws from 150 years of musical theater repertoire, ranging from well-known standards to rare finds to help you find the right songs quickly and easily.
New
PrepSTEP is a dynamic online learning platform from LearningExpress that can change the lives of students through academic success and preparation for today’s workplace. PrepSTEP for Colleges and Universities is packed with tutorials, practice tests, e-books and high-stakes test preparation for self-guided skill building, career preparation and workforce readiness. Register for your own account by providing your name, email address, and a password. Use your email and the password you created to sign in.
Trial
Routledge Handbooks Online is an invaluable educational resource bringing together the world’s leading scholars to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research from Routledge, and CRC Press, in the Humanities, Social sciences, Education, Psychology, Engineering, and Built environment, while at the same time providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today. ***ON CAMPUS ONLY***
New
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive consists of more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries.
New
Over 500 open access books in a wide range of areas within science, technology and medicine (STM) and within humanities and social sciences.
New
The (London) Times Digital Archive (1785-2012) is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2012. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
Trial
As critical as regular studio and stage training are, Vocal MasterClassics provides students with instruction from a wide variety of professionals who can provide invaluable perspectives born of their real-world experiences. ***ON CAMPUS ONLY***
New
As the first in the Women’s Studies archive, this collection traces the path of women’s issues from past to present—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights. A comprehensive academic-level archival resource, Women’s Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities focuses on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Along with providing a closer look at some of the pioneers of women’s movements, this collection offers scholars a deep dive into the issues that have affected women and the many contributions they have made to society.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...