Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Trial
Comprehensive database on international development finance and foreign aid, accompanied by a variety of innovative web-based applications for data analysis.
New
Non-profit and non-partisan database of presidential documents, recordings and videos dealing with current and historical information on American presidents from 1789 to present.
Trial
Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher in Palo Alto, California, that is dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society. It has a collection of 46 review series in specific disciplines in science and social science.
New
Applied Nursing Research presents original, peer-reviewed research findings clearly and directly for clinical applications in all nursing specialties. Regular features include "Ask the Experts," research briefs, clinical methods, book reviews, news and announcements, and an editorial section. Applied Nursing Research covers such areas as pain management, patient education, discharge planning, nursing diagnosis, job stress in nursing, nursing influence on length of hospital stay, and nurse/physician collaboration. The Journal is listed in PubMed/MEDLINE, CINAHL and the Journal Citation Reports published by Thomson Reuters.
Trial
Trial
Trial
Trial
Trial
New
Collection of Carthage owned audiobooks. You have to download the Ebsco Audiobook App from either Google Play or Apple Apps. To borrow an audiobook, click "Borrow", sign in with Google, and play on your device.
New
Barron's is an American weekly newspaper published by Dow Jones & Company, a property of News Corp. It covers US financial information, market developments, and relevant statistics. Each issue provides a summary of the previous week's market activity as well as news, reports and an outlook on the week to come. Email library@help.carthage.edu for the log in information to access Barron's. Password is changed often.
Trial
In partnership with Taylor and Francis, the Architecture Design & Practice Online collection includes over 200 key titles focusing on studio design and professional practice. This fully cross-searchable resource is a must-have for students and professional architects bringing: in-depth design guidance and technical detail, up-to-date peer-reviewed content, a wealth of case studies and technical drawings, and over 15,000 images right to the designer’s fingertips.
Trial
Bloomsbury Collections delivers instant access to quality research and provides libraries with a flexible way to build eBook collections across the humanities and social sciences. It contains over 6,000 titles, featuring content from Bloomsbury’s latest research publications as well as a 100+ year legacy including Continuum, T&T Clark, Bristol Classical Press, Berg, The Arden Shakespeare and Hart Publishing.
Trial
This foundational study offers an accessible introduction to Native American and First Nations theatre by drawing on critical Indigenous and dramaturgical frameworks. It is the first major survey book to introduce Native artists, plays, and theatres within their cultural, aesthetic, spiritual, and socio-political contexts. Native American and First Nations theatre weaves the spiritual and aesthetic traditions of Native cultures into diverse, dynamic, contemporary plays that enact Indigenous human rights through the plays’ visionary styles of dramaturgy and performance. The book begins by introducing readers to historical and cultural contexts helpful for reading Native American and First Nations drama, followed by an overview of Indigenous plays and theatre artists from across the century. Finally, it points forward to the ways in which Native American and First Nations theatre artists are continuing to create works that advocate for human rights through transformative Native performance practices.
Trial
Bloomsbury Cultural History is an extraordinary, fully cross-searchable digital resource that engages with culture throughout the ages from antiquity to modernity. Thanks to its interdisciplinary nature and ever-expanding collections, this unique digital reference tool promises to be an essential resource on many courses from cultural studies and sociology to history and anthropology.

With exclusive digital access to Bloomsbury’s cutting-edge Cultural Histories series as well as an extensive e-book collection, image partnerships with the Wellcome Collection and supporting features like lesson plans and an interactive timeline, it has never been easier for students and scholars alike to explore the cultural worlds that have shaped our own.
Trial
The digital age has had a profound impact on literary culture, with new technologies opening up opportunities for new forms of literary art from hyperfiction to multi-media poetry and narrative-driven games. Bringing together leading scholars and artists from across the world, The Bloomsbury Handbook of Electronic Literature is the first authoritative reference handbook to the field. Crossing disciplinary boundaries, this book explores the foundational theories of the field, contemporary artistic practices, debates and controversies surrounding such key concepts as canonicity, world systems, narrative and the digital humanities, and historical developments and new media contexts of contemporary electronic literature. Including guides to major publications in the field, The Bloomsbury Handbook of Electronic Literature is an essential resource for scholars of contemporary culture in the digital era.
Trial
The Bloomsbury Handbook of Religion and Popular Music is the first comprehensive analysis of the most important themes and concepts in this field. Drawing on contemporary research from religious studies, theology, sociology, ethnography, and cultural studies, the volume comprises thirty-one specifically commissioned essays from a team of international experts. The chapters explore the principal areas of inquiry and point to new directions for scholarship. Featuring chapters on methodology, key genres, religious traditions and popular music subcultures, this volume provides the essential reference point for anyone with an interest in religion and popular music as well as popular culture more broadly. Religious traditions covered include Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Hinduism, Buddhism, Paganism and occultism. Coverage of genres and religion ranges from heavy metal, rap and hip hop to country music and film and television music. Edited by Christopher Partridge and Marcus Moberg, this Handbook defines the research field and provides an accessible entry point for new researchers in the field.
Trial
The Human Kinetics Library combines Bloomsbury’s digital excellence with Human Kinetics’ market-leading sports and physical activity content, featuring an exclusive package of over 150 ebooks and 200 videos.
Trial
Covering the historical, social, political, and cultural contexts, The Bloomsbury Research Handbook of Chinese Philosophy and Gender presents a comprehensive overview of the complexity of gender disparity in Chinese thought and culture. Divided into four main sections, an international group of experts in Chinese Studies write on Confucian, Daoist, and Buddhist approaches to gender relations. Each section includes a general introduction, a set of authoritative articles written by leading scholars and comprehensive bibliographies, designed to provide the non-specialist with a practical and broad overview. Beginning with the Ancient and Medieval period before moving on to Modern and Contemporary approaches, specially commissioned chapters include Pre-Qin canonical texts, women in early Chinese ethics, the yin-yang gender dynamic and the Buddhist understanding of the conception of gender. Considering why the philosophy of women and gender dynamics in Chinese thought is rarely confronted, The Bloomsbury Research Handbook of Chinese Philosophy and Gender is a pioneering cross-disciplinary introduction to Chinese philosophy’s intersection with gender studies. By bridging the fields of Chinese philosophy, religion, intellectual history, feminism, and gender studies, this cutting-edge volume fills a great need in the current literature on Chinese philosophy and provides student and scholars with an invaluable research resource to a growing field.
Trial
Screen Studies is a dynamic new learning and research platform taking users from script to screen and beyond - offering integrated and diverse content to support moving image studies.
Trial
Content Includes:
3,284 active full-text journals and magazines
2,034 active, full-text, peer-reviewed journals
1,479 active, full-text, peer-reviewed journals with no embargo
1,059 active full-text journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus
27,000+ videos from industry leaders
Trial
Cambridge Core is the platform for Cambridge University Press's academic content. ... Cambridge Core is the place to find valuable, useful and inspirational research and academic information. With over 1 million journal articles and 30,000+ books, Cambridge Core is a central destination for academic research.
New
Access to over 40 journals, 70 journals, and 25,000 articles.
New
CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same. CDC increases the health security of our nation. As the nation’s health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health threats. To accomplish our mission, CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise.
New
A free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 25 million structures, properties and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from more than 400 data sources, it enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. Owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Trial
UNICEF website providing statistics and data on the situation of children and women throughout the world. Some data is downloadable to MS Excel.
New
College & Research Libraries (C&RL) is the official scholarly research journal of the Association of College & Research Libraries, a division of the American Library Association. C&RL is an open access journal. All contents, from 1939-present, are freely available immediately to the public without charge.
New
ContemporaryMusicalTheatre.com is a subscription website that connects voice teachers, students and musical theatre professionals with today’s best contemporary writers and songs. We represent over 180 writers and 500 largely unpublished songs, curated by industry professionals, searchable by voice and song type and available for purchase directly on our site.
Trial
ProQuest built this database in response to the rapidly growing need for authoritative content related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). The company is working together with institutions all over the world to offer support as they navigate through the coronavirus pandemic. This launch of the Coronavirus Research Database is the latest in a series of programs to help librarians, faculty and students.
Trial
De Gruyter publishes open access books and journals across a total of 30 subject areas in science, technology, engineering and medicine (STEM), and humanities and social sciences (HSS). To view open access resources, filter by Open Access and Published.
Trial
Trial
Flipster provides digital magazine subscriptions for Libraries providing patrons with access to their favorite magazines – browse top magazines for Libraries. Flipster can be accessed on your PC or laptop. There is also a mobile app which can be downloaded from the app store.
Trial
Trial
Trial
Trial
Harvard Business Publishing is the leading provider of teaching materials for management education. HBP-Higher Education offerings include: Case Method Teaching. The case method brings real-life business dilemmas to life in the classroom. Cases provide the reality of managerial decision making – which includes incomplete information, time constraints, and conflicting goals – as students learn how to analyze business situations. The case method packs more experience into each hour of learning than any other instructional approach. It stimulates students' thinking and class discussion is a key aspect of learning. Not only is it the most relevant and practical way to learn managerial skills, it is deeply engaging for students.
Trial
Trial
Trial
Trial
Trial
Trial
Trial
Trial
Trial
Trial
IGI Global disseminates quality content across 350+ topics in 11 core subject areas. All of these publications have been contributed by over 100,000+ industry-leading researchers and experts worldwide, ensuring that each title contains the most emerging and timeliest research. To ensure that institutions are able to affordably access this valuable research content, all of these titles are available through IGI Global’s InfoSci®-Books (5,900+ e-books) and InfoSci®-Journals (185+ e-journals) databases. View our subject coverage below:

Business and Management
Computer Science and Information Technology
Education
Environment and Agriculture
Government and Law
Library and Information Science
Media and Communications
Medicine and Healthcare
Science and Engineering
Security and Forensics
Social Sciences and Humanities
New
The Journal of Voice is widely regarded as the world's premiere journal for voice medicine and research. This peer-reviewed publication is listed in Index Medicus and is indexed by the Institute for Scientific Information. The journal contains articles written by experts throughout the world on all topics in voice sciences, voice medicine and surgery, and speech-language pathologists' management of voice-related problems. The journal includes clinical articles, clinical research, and laboratory research.
Trial
JoVE Science Education is a revolutionary video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through simple easy-to-understand video demonstrations.
Trial
Trial
Trial
The National Emergency Library is a collection of more than 1.4 million online books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed. Affiliated with The Internet Archive, the goal is to provide online access to older books, roughly 7 years old and older.
New
The New Play Exchange®, a National New Play Network project, is the world’s largest digital library of scripts by living writers. The mission of the New Play Exchange® is to provide an open, egalitarian platform on which writers all over the world can share their work and others can discover that work.
Trial
New
Online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. Contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning. America's preeminent public broadcasting producer, WGBH productions have documented our collective cultural heritage in moving images and sound.
New
The literature section of OHO includes essays on most aspects of poetry, prose, verse, and drama in English, as well as, Film Studies. Its chronological range extends from around 1300 to the present day. Its principal focus is on writing produced in the British Isles and North America, but also includes a growing body of work relating to literature from other English-speaking regions of the world. Essays represent a variety of critical approaches (historical, formalist, theoretical), and seek to combine original scholarship with authoritative introductions to their topic. These are not simply guides to existing research but exemplary essays which explore new avenues for future work. The present scope of the collection reflects the range of the printed Oxford Handbooks, which offer particularly strong coverage of Shakespeare, early modern (1500-1700), modern, and American topics. As the resource grows this coverage will be supplemented in ways will produce a comprehensive and reliable guide to all areas of writing in English from the earlier Middle Ages to the present day.
Trial
Trial
The Royal Society of London is the oldest national scientific institution in the world. The society fulfills a number of roles: promoting science and its benefits, recognizing excellence in science, supporting outstanding science, providing scientific advice for policy, fostering international and global co-operation, education and public engagement. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic access is available "for the time being".
New
Watch free movies on SnagFilms! From award-winning independent films to groundbreaking documentaries, we've got you covered. All our films are hand-curated by our editorial staff of film lovers and filmmakers to ensure that each time you visit SnagFilms, you are sure to Discover Something Different.
New
Explore Open Access books and book chapters published by Taylor & Francis, and discover content available across subject areas including economics, environment & sustainability, geography, history, law, media & cultural studies, politics, sociology and more.
New
Collection of 250 Open Access titles in the Taylor & Francis Books Open Archive. Browse titles across a variety of subject areas including Business & Management, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Language & Literature, Politics & International Relations, Built Environment and more...
New
Collection of open access journals from Taylor & Francis.
Trial
AudioBookCloud is a curated database of streaming audio books. The growing collection features over 1200 titles, including dozens of genres and interest levels. The collection includes popular literature, classics, children’s and teen books, mystery, sci-fi, history, biography, and more!
Trial
TumbleBookLibrary is a curated database of children’s e-books. Contains over 1100 titles for grades K-6, and includes our unique animated, talking picture books, read-along chapter books, National Geographic videos, non-fiction books, playlists, as well as books in Spanish and French, and, Graphic Novels.
Trial
TeenBookCloud is a curated database of e-books and other digital content for Grades 7-12. The growing collection features over 1000 titles, including student-favorite Graphic Novels, enhanced e-books with full audio narration and highlighted text, classic literature, national geographic videos, and more!
Trial
University of Michigan Press is a leading publisher and distributor of books and digital projects in the humanities and social sciences that are aligned with the strengths of its parent institution. Areas of particular focus are performing arts; classical studies; political science; American studies (especially disability and class studies); Asian and African studies.
Trial
The University of Pennsylvania Press is an established publisher of academic, professional, and trade works with a century of experience to its credit. Its chief task is to continue building a publishing program that is influential and innovative, a program that addresses the needs of scholars, teachers, students, professionals, and the broader community of readers.
Trial
As critical as regular studio and stage training are, Vocal MasterClassics provides students with instruction from a wide variety of professionals who can provide invaluable perspectives born of their real-world experiences. ***ON CAMPUS ONLY***
New
Worldometer is a reference website that provides counters and real-time statistics for diverse topics. It is owned and operated by a data company, Dadax, which generates revenue through online advertising. It is part of the Real Time Statistics Project, and is managed by an international team of developers, researchers, and volunteers. It is available in 34 languages and covers subjects such as world population, government and economics, society and media, environment, food, water, energy, and health. It was voted as one of the best free reference websites by the American Library Association.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...